In praise of electro & house music

As I write this, I’m listening to Goldfrapp’s “Black Cherry” album. I know, some things I never tire of… wonderful electric… I’m not really a “party girl”, but I appreciate good electro & house music. I mean, I like all different types of music, but if it has a loud bass line and a kicking beat, then all the better. Right now, “Slippage” is playing. It’s not really a dance song cause it’s not fast enough, but it’s got such a loud thumping beat, that would make it a great summer driving song. Yes, I am one of those people who cranks their bass and drives around in my souped-up car with the windows down, blasting everyone around me… but I only do it downtown or when I’m stuck in traffic, not in residential areas. I digress.

Anyways, what I like about electro & house, is that they can set a mood, and move me, which not many things can. I mean, I listen and sing along to “Strict Machine” whenever I want to feel sexy, or I’ll listen to David Guetta when I’m heading out to the club, just to get pumped. I know, it sounds odd, but that’s just me. I’m sure most people have those certain tunes that make them feel happy, empowered, or just chill.

I rarely ever listen to anything slow except for when I’m at work, to break the silence in my office. I’m sure my coworkers wouldn’t appreciate Benny Benassi blaring from my office…even if you shut the door, it only masks normal speech.

Well, I’d best call it a night… note to self: don’t listen to electro & house before going to bed, or you’ll get all wound up…When will you learn, Mitsu?

Leave a Reply

