Buy Nothing Christmas

Here’s a site that I stumbled across while surfing today, and it pretty much sums up how I feel about the holidays:

http://www.buynothingchristmas.org/index.html

Buy Nothing Christmas is about celebrating the holidays without all the mindless consumerism and excess. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind shopping, but I hate how everyone goes so nuts about this one day! If I buy something around this time, I’ll use it right away, and if I give a gift, I want the recipient to open it up right in front of me, on the day that I give it, not on December 25th! It’s pretty much been that way when I was growing up, since my younger brother’s birthday is the 24th. He would open his gifts then, and that was it.

This time of year also gets really depressing for me. I mean, it’s not just all the people who are forcing themselves to be happy, it’s also the beginning of winter. I’m starting to feel down right now, and my dose of antidepressants has been upped, as it usually gets, around this time. Hopefully, it will make me feel a bit better. I just can’t stand this! Everyone has to be so fake, they all come out of the woodwork asking for donations…People are hungry and needy all year round! I help out and do my part whenever I can. I’m not going to max out my credit cards and put myself in debt because of “christmas”. I never have, and never will. I usually give little thoughtful gifts, like a book that a friend really wanted, a cute stuffed toy, or something that I made myself, and I don’t mind receiving something similar (like the stuffed Hello Kitty I got last year; thanks Yuki!). There’s no need for excess, it’s the thought that counts.

Anyways, check out that site, and let me know if you decide to post some of the flyers around town! I know I’m going to be putting them in my complex, the gym, the grocery store, and anywhere else I see fit! We can do this! I’m already feeling better just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

