Post-election depression

Today’s my last day here at Agriculture, on Monday, I start at Natural Resources. What a crazy week it’s been! I mean, I hardly had any time for myself! Work, the election, partying too late on Wednesday night, cats… now it’s all over. In a way, it makes me a bit sad, cause I don’t have anything to look forward to. It’s nice that my party won, but there’s no more excitement! I get like this every single time an election is over.

Maybe this is a sign that I need to find an interest other than politics. I do other things, but nothing gets me as excited as going to campaigns, chasing hot politicians, and bugging my friends about it. I’m not usually the excitable type, I’m more mellow, but an election just gives me the excuse to be wild and crazy, and that kind of enthusiasm is appreciated there! It’s like there’s nothing special for me to look forward to. Wednesday night,was the best part of it all… I was a naughty cat then! (I won’t reveal too many details here, just for my own safety. I don’t need to be hunted down!)

Rumour has it that there may be a federal election sometime in the new year… that would be sweet! I probably won’t campaign then, I’ll just work at the polls. The reason is that I’m currently in a little dilemma… I’m Liberal provincially, but Conservative federally. My hottie thinks that I’m more liberal, ideologically speaking, but I’m not too sure. Honestly, I’m disillusioned with the whole party system… I think I just vote for the party that has the hottest leader… that’s what I did this time, despite all the cries of “You have a poli-sci degree! You can’t do that!” If MMP had been accepted, this would totally solve the problem, but not enough people understand enough about it, so we’re stuck with a faulty system (in my opinion). I don’t understand why I get turned on by hot politicians, but I just do! My hottie can’t wait for me to get over the election buzz, so that he doesn’t have to hear about it. To quote his words: “People usually call out the name of their ex accidentally, not the name of the Premier of Ontario!” Oh well, I guess things like this just make me all the more unique!

One Response to “Post-election depression”

  1. […] Mitsu wrote a fantastic post today on “Post-election depression”Here’s ONLY a quick extractMaybe this is a sign that I need to find an interest other than politics. I do other things, but nothing gets me as excited as going to campaigns, chasing hot politicians, and bugging my friends about it. I’m not usually the excitable … […]

Leave a Reply

